The Indian artist Haribaabu Naatesan (Hari) created a VW beetle, the ‘Think Blue Beetle’. But not a normal one, but one from trash. He used 2805 pieces of scrap metal. He used 800 spark plugs, 200 bottle caps, speakers, mice, keyboards, vinyl records, cans, and many more.

Image

The project was done with the help of Volkswagen to promote ecological awareness. VW also collected all the material. Hari selected and segregated all the items by shape.

Quote: ‘I see all objects as forms,‘ the artist explains in an interview with the asian age newspaper.
‘so my mind is always open to thinking I can create this out of this form. in the ‘think blue beetle’ you’ll see that I have 
used old speakers for the headlights, a mouse for the indicator light. for the wheel caps, we sourced old gramophone 
records… the function (of the discarded object) isn’t important, I work according to the form.’

Image

Image

I think this is cool because in this time you see recycling everywhere, also artists use it. There are many artist who are recycling, but this I find impressive. The movie you see underneath explains everything. When I was on Curacao this Februar there was also an artist who used trash to made art. I think this has future growth potential because trash is everywhere and people has to see what you can do with it in a creative way, instead of throwing it on the street.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YBQ31G4nRcA&feature=player_embedded

Source: Designboom

